About the certification

A Computer Security Incident Response Team (CSIRT) is a service organization that is responsible for receiving, reviewing, and responding to computer security incident reports and activity. When computer security incidents occur, it will be critical for an organization to have an effective way to respond. The speed with which an organization can recognize, analyze, and respond to an incident will limit the damage and lower the cost of recovery

The CSIRT Foundation is an entry-level certification intended for IT professionals seeking to validate their knowledge of CSIRT. The exam test the candidate's knowledge of best practices for planning, implementing, and building an effective Computer Security Incident Response Team (CSIRT).

The CSIRT Foundation certification exam is an online, closed-book, and remotely-proctored exam. It includes 20 multiple-choice questions and the passing score is 70%. You will have 30 minutes to complete the exam. Validate your knowledge of CSIRT and advance your career. Register for your online exam now!

Exam details

Exam code


Launch date

March 18, 2016

Exam description

The CSIRT Foundation exam tests the candidate knowledge in CSIRT

Current version


Exam format

Multiple choice; computer-based; closed book

Number of questions

20 questions

Passing score

70% (14 out of 20)

Exam duration

30 minutes




English and Portuguese (Brazilian)

Exam description

Best practices for planning, implementing, and building an effective Computer Security Incident Response Team (CSIRT).


16 hours


There are no prerequisites for this certification

Recommended experience

Six months of work experience in CSIRT

Validity period



USD 150

How to get certified


Browse our certification programs and choose your certification.


Discover the exam objectives and prepare for your exam.


Register for your online proctored exam.


Take your online proctored exam in the comfort of your home or office.


Congratulations! You are certified!

Stackable Certifications

Earn 3 certifications and receive an integrator certification (designation).

Ethical Hacking Essentials

Cybersecurity Foundation

CSIRT Foundation

Information Security Officer (CSO)

Frequently Asked Questions

  • How much do Itcert's exams cost?

    All exams are available for USD 150 each. Prices may vary slightly by region and currency exchange rates.

  • Are there any prerequisites to take the exams?

    There are no prerequisites to take the exams. Itcerts recommends that candidates have at least six months of work experience in the area that the certification covers.

  • What is the exam retake policy?

    If a candidate does not achieve a passing score on the first attempt, there is no waiting period between the first and the second attempt. If a candidate does not achieve a passing score on the second attempt, the candidate must wait at least 7 days before retaking the exam for a third time. A candidate may not take a given exam any more than three times per year (12 months).

  • How do I register for an Online Proctored Exam?

    Visit the Online Proctored Exam registration page to find complete instructions.

  • Are there any mandatory training to take an exam?

    Training is recommended as part of your certification preparation, but it is not mandatory.

  • Which languages are the exams available in?

    Our exams are currently available in English, Spanish and Portuguese (Brazilian).

  • Where can I take the exams?

    Exams are delivered online (Online Proctored Exams) and can be taken from anywhere in the world.

  • Do the Itcerts certifications expire?

    Itcerts certifications are considered good-for-life and do not expire.

  • How can a potential employer verify my certifications?

    Your employer can verify your certification on our certification verification page. Your certification number will be needed in order to process the verification.



Subscribe to own newsletter